Forget and Not Slow Down

Album: Forget and Not Slow Down (2009)
  • songfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • This is the title track of Christian pop rock band Relient K's sixth studio album. The song's message is to celebrate future possibilities. It is a reminder of Paul's admonition in Philippians 3:13 to "forget what is behind and strain toward what is ahead."
  • The song features guest backing vocals from Tim Skipper of the alternative rock band House of Heroes.
  • Front man Matt Thiessen said that the overall message of the album is "about staying positive and not letting the things that get us down get to us."
  • Matt Thiessen wrote the songs for Forget and Not Slow Down during early 2009 in an isolated lake house in Winchester, Tennessee. "I was by myself for about two or three months, in total isolation," he said. "It was awesome. You could think about something, and keep thinking about it, and no one would interrupt you for six or seven hours. You could keep your brain on one train of thought. I'll never want to write another record any other way."
  • Speaking to The Agency Group, Thiessen said that the song is "about learning from mistakes and not just focusing on all the things you wished you would've done differently. Everyone has those things. What's important is the knowledge that when you make a mistake, your life is not over."
  • This was featured on an episode of the TV show Royal Pains.
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

Bass Player Scott EdwardsSong Writing

Scott was Stevie Wonder's bass player before becoming a top session player. Hits he played on include "I Will Survive," "Being With You" and "Sara Smile."

Justin TimberlakeFact or Fiction

Was Justin the first to be Punk'd by Ashton Kutcher? Did Britney really blame him for her meltdown? Did his bandmates think he was gay?

Jason Newsted (ex-Metallica)Songwriter Interviews

The former Metallica bassist talks about his first time writing a song with James Hetfield, and how a hand-me-down iPad has changed his songwriting.

Guy ClarkSongwriter Interviews

Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris and Lyle Lovett are just a few of the artists who have looked to Clark for insightful, intelligent songs.

80s Video Director Jay DubinSong Writing

Billy Joel and Hall & Oates hated making videos, so they chose a director with similar contempt for the medium. That was Jay Dubin, and he has a lot to say on the subject.

Al KooperSongwriter Interviews

Kooper produced Lynyrd Skynyrd, played with Dylan and the Stones, and formed BS&T.