Morning After Dark

Album: Shock Value II (2009)
Charted: 6 61


  • This is the first single from Timbaland's third studio album, Shock Value II.
  • The song features the seductive vocals of French-American singer SoShy, who is a recent signing of Timbaland's Mosley Music Group. Frequent Timbaland collaborator Nelly Furtado also contributes a verse.
  • Timbaland told MTV News that the song was inspired in part by the popular vampire franchise, Twilight. He said: "The song, I can't describe it, it's so different. It's not different for me, but I can tell you this - it fits everything going on with the vampire theme. It fits everything with Twilight."
  • Featured artist SoShy (real name Deborah Epstein) was born in France to a French-Argentine-Italian mother and French-Russian father, She split her childhood between Los Angeles and New York City. Timbaland told MTV News: "She's like Amy Winehouse to the 10th power. But not crazy. Sane. Not saying Amy Winehouse is crazy; she's ambitious. Soshy is ambitious, but she has a point to prove."
  • Two more pieces of SoShy trivia:
    1. She co-wrote "Lost Cause" for alternative rock/pop artist Chris Cornell on his 2009 album Scream.
    2. Her single "Dorothy" is featured on the FIFA 10 soundtrack.

Comments: 1

  • Jasper from Nieuwegein, NetherlandsClassic Rock is my favourite genre, and I HATE modern DJ-music, but Timbaland is the first I think is pretty much good...
see more comments

Editor's Picks

Chris Robinson of The Black CrowesSongwriter Interviews

"Great songwriters don't necessarily have hit songs," says Chris. He's written a bunch, but his fans are more interested in the intricate jams.

How The Beatles Crafted Killer ChorusesSong Writing

The author of Help! 100 Songwriting, Recording And Career Tips Used By The Beatles, explains how the group crafted their choruses so effectively.

The FratellisSongwriter Interviews

Jon Fratelli talks about the band's third album, and the five-year break leading up to it.

Ben Kowalewicz of Billy TalentSongwriter Interviews

The frontman for one of Canada's most well-known punk rock bands talks about his Eddie Vedder encounter, Billy Talent's new album, and the importance of rock and roll.

Dean PitchfordSongwriter Interviews

Dean wrote the screenplay and lyrics to all the songs in Footloose. His other hits include "Fame" and "All The Man That I Need."

Zac HansonSongwriter Interviews

Zac tells the story of Hanson's massive hit "MMMbop," and talks about how brotherly bonds effect their music.