Costa Rica

Album: Revenge of the Dreamers III (2019)
Charted: 75
  • songfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • "Costa Rica" is a posse cut recorded for the Dreamville artists' compilation album Revenge of the Dreamers III. The track features verses by Mez, Buddy, Jace, Reese LAFLARE, Ski Mask the Slump God, Smokepurpp, Bas and JID, while Guapdad 4000 handles the chorus.
  • The song is a riotous braggadocio cut featuring the nine artists flexing about their wealth and women.
  • Costa Rica is a popular holiday destination thanks to its extensive series of national parks and other protected areas. The country stands as the most visited nation in the Central American region. The song title is referred to in the chorus.

    I got fans in Costa Rica
    I got bands in Costa Rica

    Guapdad claims to have both fans and wealth in the Central American country.
  • The recording sessions for Revenge of the Dreamers III took place in Atlanta in January 2019; "Costa Rica" was the final track laid down for the album.

    A David Peters-directed documentary film, Revenge, chronicles the creative processes behind the compilation record. It reveals how this song was done in a celebratory manner as more and more Dreamville artists joined in the revels and hopped on the cut.

    Dreamville President Ibrahim Hamad spoke about how he was happy the sessions ended on a high note with the recording of "Costa Rica." "It's a good way to remember the energy that was created," he said.
  • Only two of artists on the track, Bas and J.I.D., are actually signed to Dreamville. The remaining seven belong to other labels.
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

90210 to Buffy to Glee: How Songs Transformed TVSong Writing

Shows like Dawson's Creek, Grey's Anatomy and Buffy the Vampire Slayer changed the way songs were heard on TV, and produced some hits in the process.

Yacht Rock QuizFact or Fiction

Christopher Cross with Deep Purple? Kenny Loggins in Caddyshack? A Fact or Fiction all about yacht rock and those who made it.

Jon Anderson of YesSongwriter Interviews

From the lake in "Roundabout" to Sister Bluebird in "Starship Trooper," Jon Anderson talks about how nature and spirituality play into his lyrics for Yes.

Martin PageSongwriter Interviews

With Bernie Taupin, Martin co-wrote the #1 hits "We Built This City" and "These Dreams." After writing the Pretty Woman song for Go West, he had his own hit with "In the House of Stone and Light."

Joe Elliott of Def LeppardSongwriter Interviews

The Def Leppard frontman talks about their "lamentable" hit he never thought of as a single, and why he's juiced by his Mott The Hoople cover band.

Director Paul Rachman on "Hunger Strike," "Man in the Box," KissSong Writing

After cutting his teeth on hardcore punk videos, Paul defined the grunge look with his work on "Hunger Strike" and "Man in the Box."