Man! I Feel Like a Woman!

Album: Come On Over (1997)
Charted: 3 23
  • songfacts ®
  • Artistfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • This song was written by Shania Twain and her producer husband Robert John "Mutt" Lange and was originally released to North American Country radio stations in early 1999 as the seventh Country single released from her 1997 album Come On Over.
  • Regarding her songwriting, Twain said: "I love to write stories. Songwriting is my favorite part of what I do. I like to give every song its own personality and attitude and to sing each one in its own style." (Source Tommy's #1 Shania Twain Supersite).
  • This was the opening song on both Twain's Come on Over and Up! Tours.
  • The song won the Grammy Award for Best Female Country Vocal Performance in 2000.
  • The song's music video was shot in New York City and parodies Robert Palmer's "Addicted to Love." The role reversal clip shows Twain on a stage singing surrounded by sexy male musicians all dressed in red.
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

Dave MasonSongwriter Interviews

Dave reveals the inspiration for "Feelin' Alright" and explains how the first song he ever wrote became the biggest hit for his band Traffic.

Bob DaisleySongwriter Interviews

Bob was the bass player and lyricist for the first two Ozzy Osbourne albums. Here's how he wrote songs like "Crazy Train" and "Mr. Crowley" with Ozzy and Randy Rhoads.

Annie Haslam of RenaissanceSongwriter Interviews

The 5-octave voice of the classical rock band Renaissance, Annie is big on creative expression. In this talk, she covers Roy Wood, the history of the band, and where all the money went in the '70s.

Waiting For The Break of Day: Three Classic Songs About All-NightersSong Writing

These Three famous songs actually describe how they were written - late into the evening.

Tony Banks of GenesisSongwriter Interviews

Genesis' key-man re-examines his solo career and the early days of music video.

Michael W. SmithSongwriter Interviews

Smith breaks down some of his worship tracks as well as his mainstream hits, including "I Will Be Here For You" and "A Place In This World."