CMFT Must Be Stopped
by Corey Taylor (featuring Tech N9ne)


  • The lead single from Corey Taylor's debut solo album, CMFT, finds the Slipknot frontman joined by hip-hop artists Tech N9ne and Kid Bookie. The song and album title stand for "Corey mother f---in' Taylor."
  • The song finds the three artists rhyming over a heavy guitar riff. Taylor originally came up with the track's concept in the 2000s but he put it aside because it didn't fit into the Slipknot or Stone Sour ballpark.

    "I had my verse and the choruses, those ideas, probably for about 15 years, and I just never really had taken the time to really flesh it out and do whatever until I was putting this solo album together, and I just realized it was just time for me to do something like that," he explained. "And it's got that throwback kind of Rick Rubin-meets-RUN-D.M.C. vibe. That's what I was really trying to go for."
  • Leading his debut solo album with this dynamic tune wasn't Taylor's first choice, but his team persuaded him and he now loves the decision.

    "We just went with what had the most energy, and what people would react to and I love the fact that we went with 'CMFT' because pretentious pr--ks can't understand it, so they just dog it," he said. "That's perfect to me. The people who like it and can feel the fun it, love it and are having a great time. That's what it was supposed to do, it was supposed to piss off the straights, and that's what it is doing! The great thing about that is that it comes from such a fun place."
  • Taylor previously worked with Tech N9ne on the rapper's song "Wither" in 2015, and with Kid Bookie on a reworked version of his "Stuck In My Ways" track four years later. Tech N9ne is a big fan of Slipknot's music and says he's been a "maggot" since 1999.
  • The music video finds Taylor belting out the song in front of a giant CMFT sign. Tech N9ne and Kid Bookie jump in for their respective verses, while director DJay Brawner also incorporates scenes of a pyrotechnic woman breathing fire.

    A host of Taylor's musician friends make cameos, including Metallica's Lars Ulrich, Judas Priest's Rob Halford, Marilyn Manson, Halestorm's Lzzy Hale, Sevendust's Lajon Witherspoon, Mötley Crüe's Nikki Sixx, and Anthrax' Scott Ian. Also appearing are wrestlers King Corbin, Chris Jericho, and Corey Graves, celebrity chef Matty Matheson, and makeup artist and actor Tom Savini.


Be the first to comment...

Editor's Picks

Dr. JohnSongwriter Interviews

The good doctor shares some candid insights on recording with Phil Spector and The Black Keys.

When Rock Belonged To MichelobSong Writing

Michelob commercials generated hits for Eric Clapton, Genesis and Steve Winwood in the '80s, even as some of these rockers were fighting alcoholism.

Lace the Music: How LSD Changed Popular MusicSong Writing

Starting in Virginia City, Nevada and rippling out to the Haight-Ashbury, LSD reshaped popular music.

John ParrSongwriter Interviews

John tells the "St. Elmo's Fire (Man In Motion)" story and explains why he disappeared for so long.

Johnette Napolitano of Concrete BlondeSongwriter Interviews

The singer/bassist for Concrete Blonde talks about how her songs come from clairvoyance, and takes us through the making of their hit "Joey."

Max Cavalera of Soulfly (ex-Sepultura)Songwriter Interviews

The Brazilian rocker sees pictures in his riffs. When he came up with one of his gnarliest songs, there was a riot going on.