Under and Over It

Album: American Capitalist (2011)
Charted: 77
  • This is the first single from American heavy metal band Five Finger Death Punch's third studio album, American Capitalist. It was released on July 27, 2011.
  • Vocalist Ivan Moody explained the song's meaning to Revolver magazine: "This one is about the rumors and gossip that go on everywhere - especially online. It's comical to see how much crazy, ill-informed s--t people will post as news and when they're trolling around message boards. In today's day and age, speculation and bad info can just fly around the internet and catch fire - even when it's completely false and unfounded. Funny s--t."
  • Guitarist Jason Hook told Loudwire the song's lyric "came from a direct response to Internet haters." He added: "The Internet has a small community of haters, people that try to stimulate themselves by attacking any news post that comes up on some of the favorite music news sites. They leave harsh attacking comments and encourage other haters to get on board. We read this stuff and kind of scratch our heads a bit wondering where it comes from. I don't understand why some people feel that that's necessary. But 'Under and Over It' was a direct response to that kind of stuff and that small group of people. The comment threads are coming from anonymous people."
  • Hook told Loudwire that the band toned down Ivan Moody's original lyric, which was originally written as "I'm F—ing Over It." He explained: "We told him we weren't sure if he should say that, there's got to be a more clever way of saying the same thing. We tossed around some ideas and came up with 'I'm Under and Over It' which actually fits the whole concept of how much work is involved and how we're under a lot of pressure. Even though we enjoy what we do, you can't get away from it."
  • The band enlisted Kraddy to remix the song, and the electro-guru transformed it into an dubstep-infused version of the original tune. However FFDP fans reacted negatively on Facebook and the metallers were forced to quench a revolt. After successions of unenthusiastic comments were posted the band replied: "LOL! Before all the confusion starts with the Under and Over remix – we are not turning into a dubstep or step dance act any time soon."
  • The light-hearted music video finds the L.A. hard rockers taking inspiration from 1980's hair metal visuals. Guitarist Zoltan Bathory told Artist Direct: "We wanted to hit a pretty sarcastic tone with it, so it looks like a typical big c--k rock video, but in a tongue in cheek way. We put all the 'big-time video' clichés in it except for the booty shake… or maybe we even got that, I don't remember. We do have the party scenes, cars, airplanes, mansions, pools and girls—of course you can't have a raaawwwk video without your token pool scene."
  • Jason Hook's simple guitar solo on the song was inspired by Eddie Van Halen. He recalled to Ultimate-Guitar.com: "That guitar solo was deliberately simplified because that is what I felt the song required. I remember very specifically reading about Eddie Van Halen talking about his 'Ain't Talkin' 'Bout Love' guitar solo, that whole simplified thing.

    Here's Eddie Van Halen - this guitar wizard - playing this fairly simplified thing, and his explanation was "That's just what my brain and my heart told me to do there. That was something that it seemed to call for, melodic and simplified. Everyone in this band is like 'Dude, you're a guitar hero. Why aren't you playing some blazing solo?' Well, because that's not what this needs". That's where I am with my songwriting and my guitar soloing. I'm just looking for what fits emotionally, at the risk of sounding corny. It's whatever the song requires, whatever's gonna trasmit an emotion or feeling to the listener."


Be the first to comment...

JJ Burnel of The StranglersSongwriter Interviews

JJ talks about The Stranglers' signature sound - keyboard and bass - which isn't your typical strain of punk rock.

Mike Love of The Beach BoysSongwriter Interviews

The lead singer/lyricist of The Beach Boys talks about coming up with the words for "Good Vibrations," "Fun, Fun, Fun," "Kokomo" and other classic songs.

Dave MasonSongwriter Interviews

Dave reveals the inspiration for "Feelin' Alright" and explains how the first song he ever wrote became the biggest hit for his band Traffic.

PrinceFact or Fiction

Prince is shrouded in mystery, making him an excellent candidate for Fact or Fiction. Is he really a Scientologist? Does he own an exotic animal?

Yacht Rock QuizFact or Fiction

Christopher Cross with Deep Purple? Kenny Loggins in Caddyshack? A Fact or Fiction all about yacht rock and those who made it.

Frankie ValliSong Writing

An interview with Frankie Valli, who talks about why his songs - both solo and with The Four Seasons - have endured, and reflects on his time as Rusty Millio on The Sopranos.