They Reminisce Over You (T.R.O.Y.)

Album: Mecca and the Soul Brother (1992)
  • This song is dedicated to the memory of Troy Dixon, who was known as Trouble T-Roy. Dixon was a member of Heavy D & The Boyz, and he died in 1990 after an accidental fall at a show in Indianapolis. He was a good friend of Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth. >>
    Suggestion credit:
    Bertrand - Paris, France
  • The bassline and saxophone on this track were sampled from an obscure 1967 cover of the Jefferson Airplane song "Today" by Tom Scott and The California Dreamers. This sample, as used by Pete Rock & C.L. Smooth, was later incorporated in the 2012 Lupe Fiasco song "Around My Way (Freedom Ain't Free)."

Comments: 2

  • Neil from Yonkers, NyThis song was released in 1992 not 1990. It mentions the year in the latter part of the song, "Pete Rock and CL Smooth for 92."
  • Mark from New Orleans, LaThis is the highest state of hip-hop, like Stairway To Heaven is to rock. I'd play this for anyone who doesn't even like rap and defy them to not like it. The song is very robust as it is tender, with its overall impressions giving way to a very calm and deep sense of retrospection.
see more comments

PrinceFact or Fiction

Prince is shrouded in mystery, making him an excellent candidate for Fact or Fiction. Is he really a Scientologist? Does he own an exotic animal?

Emmylou HarrisSongwriter Interviews

She thinks of herself as a "song interpreter," but back in the '80s another country star convinced Emmylou to take a crack at songwriting.

Boz ScaggsSongwriter Interviews

The "Lowdown" and "Lido Shuffle" singer makes a habit of playing with the best in the business.

Joan ArmatradingSongwriter Interviews

The revered singer-songwriter talks inspiration and explains why she put a mahout in "Drop the Pilot."

Fire On The StageSong Writing

When you have a song called "Fire," it's tempting to set one - these guys did.

Stephen Christian of AnberlinSongwriter Interviews

The lead singer/lyricist for Anberlin breaks down "Impossible" and covers some tracks from their 2012 album Vital.