The Skeleton Getdown

Album: Underworld (2014)
Play Video


  • Tuatara is a long-running project led by Mad Season/Screaming Trees drummer Barrett Martin. This song features amongst others, regular collaborators saxophonist Skerik of Critters Buggin, guitarist Peter Buck of R.E.M. and keyboardist Scott McCaughey of The Young Fresh Fellows and The Minus 5.
  • Martin explained to Billboard magazine the tune, "was initially inspired by a particular beat, which is loosely built upon John Bonham's 'The Crunge' beat… Skerik started riffing that melody over the top of the beat with a baritone sax, and Peter Buck had this great wah wah sound dialed in on his guitar. Scott McCaughey played that funky Wurlitzer piano."

    Martin added the song "encapsulates the theme for the Underworld album, which is essentially a 20 song romp through the underworld, complete with a cast of characters that you would find hanging out down there. It's like Miles Davis' On The Corner or something like that."


Be the first to comment...

Editor's Picks

Intentionally Atrocious

Intentionally AtrociousSong Writing

A selection of songs made to be terrible - some clearly achieved that goal.

Motley Crue

Motley CrueFact or Fiction

Was Dr. Feelgood a dentist? Did the "Crüecifixion" really happen?

Krishna Das

Krishna DasSongwriter Interviews

The top chant artist in the Western world, Krishna Das talks about how these Hindu mantras compare to Christian worship songs.

Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath, Heaven And Hell

Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath, Heaven And HellSongwriter Interviews

Guitarist Tony Iommi on the "Iron Man" riff, the definitive Black Sabbath song, and how Ozzy and Dio compared as songwriters.

Lita Ford

Lita FordSongwriter Interviews

Lita talks about how they wrote songs in The Runaways, and how she feels about her biggest hit being written by somebody else.

Ralph Casale  - Session Pro

Ralph Casale - Session ProSongwriter Interviews

A top New York studio musician, Ralph played guitar on many '60s hits, including "Lightnin' Strikes," "A Lover's Concerto" and "I Am A Rock."