Love Is Pain

Album: Double Dutchess (2017)
  • songfacts ®
  • Artistfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • Fergie and her husband, Josh Duhamel, announced their separation in September 2017 after eight years of marriage. When the singer said in a pre-release interview that many of the songs on Double Dutchess were inspired by relationships, many people assumed she was talking about her failed marriage.

    However, at the album launch party in New York, Fergie made it clear that deeply personal tracks like "Love Is Pain" were inspired by journals full of her thoughts about past romances. "Josh and I are great friends," she told Extra. "A lot of those emotional songs are his favorite songs on the album; they have been there for a while."
  • "That song is not just about one person," Fergie told Entertainment Weekly. "It's about several relationships in my life. It was nice to be able to focus on a feeling and really take it there."

    She went on to call the song, "A big, '80s rock-anthem ballad. Like, get out the lighters!"
  • The song was first previewed by Fergie at Rock in Rio Lisboa 2016 where she performed it as a tribute to Prince.
  • The video was directed by Nina McNeely, who is a choreographer, editor and animator based in Los Angeles. The clip co-stars dancer and actress Denna Thomsen, who has also appeared in visuals for Sigur Ros ("Fjögur píanó") and Major Lazer ("Bubble Butt") as well as Florence + the Machine's short film The Odyssey.
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

Art Alexakis of EverclearSongwriter Interviews

The lead singer of Everclear, Art is also their primary songwriter.

"Private Eyes" - The Story Behind the SongSong Writing

How a goofy detective movie, a disenchanted director and an unlikely songwriter led to one of the biggest hits in pop history.

Stand By Me: The Perfect Song-Movie CombinationSong Writing

In 1986, a Stephen King novella was made into a movie, with a classic song serving as title, soundtrack and tone.

Producer Ron NevisonSong Writing

Ron Nevison explains in very clear terms the Quadrophenia concept and how Heart staged their resurgence after being dropped by their record company.

Leslie West of MountainSongwriter Interviews

From the cowbell on "Mississippi Queen" to recording with The Who when they got the wrong Felix, stories from one of rock's master craftsmen.

History Of RockSong Writing

An interview with Dr. John Covach, music professor at the University of Rochester whose free online courses have become wildly popular.