Album: Justice (2021)
Charted: 2 1
Play Video


  • We know Georgia as the "Peach State" because of its production of some of the juiciest, most flavorful peaches in America. The area that is now Georgia started growing peaches in 1571 and they became the state fruit in 1995. During the chorus of this breezy R&B-centric pop song, Justin Bieber sings of getting his peaches from Georgia. Whether he's referring to the actual fruit or his lover is open to question; a "Georgia Peach" can mean a hot and sweet girl from the state of Georgia. (The Georgia-based rock band The Allman Brothers had some fun with this, naming their 1972 album Eat A Peach.)

    As he also talks about getting his weed from California; it seems Bieber is portraying himself on the hook as someone who has a hedonistic lifestyle.
  • Bieber recorded the song for Justice. His wife, Hailey, served as his musical muse for much of the album, adding to the confusing reference to Georgia peaches. Hailey was born in Arizona and spent much of her life in New York, so the implication is he's singing of a different girl. The pleasure-seeking chorus does not tie in with Bieber's verse, where he sings of his desire for and commitment to his lady.
  • Daniel Caesar and Giveon join Bieber in the sensual song. Each artist croons a verse where they detail their monogamous devotion to their lover.
  • The three artists wrote the sweet slow jam with:

    Louis Bell and Andrew Watt, who co-produced three Justice tracks: "Deserve You," "Die For You" and "Hold On."

    Luis "Shndo" Martinez (Lupe Fiasco's "Gold vs. The Right Things to Do," Bonnie McKee's "Mad Mad World").

    Bernard "Harv" Harvey, who started out playing bass in Justin Bieber's band. He began supplying the Biebs with beats and produced three songs on Changes, including the single "Forever."

    Felisha "Fury" King, Matthew Sean Leon, Aaron Simmonds, and Keavan Yazdani also get a songwriting credit, making 11 songwriters in total.

    Shndo and Harv also produced the song.
  • The song originated when Bieber came up with a melody on his piano at Andrew Watt's house while hanging out with Shawn Mendes. He wrote some upbeat words and posted a snippet of him playing the tune on his Instagram. Harv noticed it, recorded the melody on his phone, then went off to the studio and made a whole beat to it. After sending it back to Bieber, the Canadian artist recorded it and gave Harv some more vocals. The producer said in a live chat that he "put the vocals back on the beat, and then no later, like an hour, he's like 'yo, we gotta get Giveon on it.'" They brought Caesar on board later on.
  • Bieber described "Peaches" as "like a West Coast, fun, uplifting, bouncing record that you just kind of want to dance and move to."
  • Bieber premiered the song on his March 18, 2021 NPR Music Tiny Desk (Home) Concert.
  • The Colin Tilley-directed video sees the three artists cruising the Las Vegas strip. Tilley also worked with Bieber on the clips for "Holy," "Anyone," and "Hold On."
  • This is Giveon's first collaboration with Bieber, but Caesar previously landed a writing credit on the pop star's Shawn Mendes team-up, "Monster," in 2020.
  • "Peaches" debuted at the top of the Hot 100 the same week that Justice landed at #1 on the Billboard 200. This made Justin Bieber the first male solo artist to debut at #1 on both the singles and albums charts.
  • The song's visit to the Hot 100 meant that 2021 was the second successive year there was a fruit-based #1; Harry Styles' "Watermelon Sugar" reached the peak position in 2020.
  • Andrew Watt told Billboard Bieber came up with this song during a jam session at his home studio. "He made up this awesome thing that we looped up. Sat down at the piano. Started playing these chords and looped those as well, and that was amazing. I put down some bass, I put down some guitar… and then the mic was up and he just started freestyling."

    Watt added the whole thing came together in around 30 minutes, then Bieber asked the producer to send the recording to him so he could work on it more himself. The next thing he knew, Harv had added a production with additional vocal contributions by Giveon and Daniel Caesar. "The initial thing of getting it out of him and giving him the space to create in, that was really my role there," Watt concluded. "And then once he had something... he just took it and ran with it."
  • Justin Bieber enlisted Ludacris, Usher and Snoop Dogg for the official remix, which he dropped on June 7, 2021. The three artists each rap a verse, replacing the contributions of Giveon and Daniel Caesar.
  • Usher served as Bieber's mentor in his early career and appeared in the videos for his singles "One Time" and "Somebody To Love."

    Bieber previously collaborated with Ludacris on his 2010 single "Baby" but had never worked before with Snoop Dogg. It was the Californian rapper who introduced the Canadian pop singer to hip-hop quartet Far East Movement, resulting in him crooning the hook for their 2012 single "Live My Life."
  • Bieber, Daniel Caesar, and Giveon performed "Peaches" at the Grammy Awards in 2022, where it was nominated for Song Of The Year, Record Of The Year, Best Video, and Best R&B Performance. It didn't win in any category.
  • When "Peaches" got nominated for the 2022 Grammy Song Of The Year, it set a new record of 11 songwriters involved. It took over from Beyoncé's "Black Parade," which in 2020 became the first Song of the Year nominee to be written by nine songwriters.


Be the first to comment...

Editor's Picks

Christopher Cross

Christopher CrossSongwriter Interviews

The man who created Yacht Rock with "Sailing" wrote one of his biggest hits while on acid.

When Rock Belonged To Michelob

When Rock Belonged To MichelobSong Writing

Michelob commercials generated hits for Eric Clapton, Genesis and Steve Winwood in the '80s, even as some of these rockers were fighting alcoholism.

Michael Franti

Michael FrantiSongwriter Interviews

Franti tells the story behind his hit "Say Hey (I Love You)" and explains why yoga is an integral part of his lifestyle and his Soulshine tour.

Ralph Casale  - Session Pro

Ralph Casale - Session ProSongwriter Interviews

A top New York studio musician, Ralph played guitar on many '60s hits, including "Lightnin' Strikes," "A Lover's Concerto" and "I Am A Rock."

Dave Edmunds

Dave EdmundsSongwriter Interviews

A renowned guitarist and rock revivalist, Dave took "I Hear You Knocking" to the top of the UK charts and was the first to record Elvis Costello's "Girls Talk."

Colin Hay

Colin HaySongwriter Interviews

Established as a redoubtable singer-songwriter, the Men At Work frontman explains how religion, sobriety and Jack Nicholson play into his songwriting.