Album: Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent (2017)
Charted: 16
  • songfacts ®
  • Artistfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • Lewis Capaldi wrote this piano ballad on October 7, 2016, the day of his 20th birthday. He had just broken up with his girlfriend after going out with her for year and a half. He told Genius that it was "an amicable split" as he was working hard on his music and she was busy doing her own thing as well.
  • The song is not sung from the perspective of heartbreak; instead Capaldi is singing of how he can't stop holding onto the memories of their relationship, no matter how much its hurting him.

    I've been told, I've been told to get you off my mind
    But I hope I never lose the bruises that you left behind
    Oh my lord, oh my lord, I need you by my side

    Capaldi explained: "At times your memory of an old relationship will be clouded and you'll only seem to remember the best parts of being with someone. Completely ignoring the reasons why things came to an end makes the idea of holding on to it or wanting to go back to it seem more enticing than it actually is."
  • Capaldi sings about "bruises" rather than "scars" as he doesn't harbor any bad feelings about the relationship. "Bruises," he explained, "seems like an altogether more repairable thing" than scars.
  • Capaldi wrote "Bruises" with producer James Earp in London. Earp's other credits include Diana Vickers' "My Wicked Heart" and Nina Nesbitt's "Selfies."
  • Capaldi had never met Earp prior to the day of writing the song, but the pair penned the tune and cut the demo within the space of four hours. They rushed it, as Capaldi had to catch a flight back home to Scotland for his birthday. Capaldi said: "Initially we had planned on adding more stuff to it in terms of instrumentation and production and things. That's why the song is so bare and so lacking in terms of production and stuff, because we just didn't have time to add stuff."
  • The song was initially self-released independently on March 31, 2017. It landed atop Spotify's New Music Friday playlist, earning Capaldi a deal with Universal Music Group.

    "Bruises" was re-released as a digital download as the lead single from Capaldi's debut EP Bloom after he signed with UMG, and later included as part of his inaugural album, Divinely Uninspired to a Hellish Extent. (His music comes out on Virgin in the United Kingdom and Capitol in the United States.)
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

Modern A Cappella with Peder Karlsson of The Real GroupSong Writing

The leader of the Modern A Cappella movement talks about the genre.

Don Brewer of Grand FunkSongwriter Interviews

The drummer and one of the primary songwriters in Grand Funk talks rock stardom and Todd Rundgren.

Ron and Russell Mael of SparksSongwriter Interviews

The men of Sparks on their album Hippopotamus, and how Morrissey handled it when they suggested he lighten up.

Pete AndersonSongwriter Interviews

Pete produced Dwight Yoakam, Michelle Shocked, Meat Puppets, and a very memorable track for Roy Orbison.

Yoko OnoSongwriter Interviews

At 80 years old, Yoko has 10 #1 Dance hits. She discusses some of her songs and explains what inspired John Lennon's return to music in 1980.

Emilio Castillo from Tower of PowerSongwriter Interviews

Emilio talks about what it's like to write and perform with the Tower of Power horns, and why every struggling band should have a friend like Huey Lewis.