Let Me Fly

  • songfacts ®
  • Many of the songs Mike Rutherford writes have a foreboding flavor, but "Let Me Fly" is a very positive song. He says the message is, "Don't have any regrets. If you want to try something, do it."
  • This is the title track to the eighth Mike + The Mechanics album, the second with the new lineup featuring vocalists Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar. Roachford, who had a UK solo hit with "Cuddly Toy (Feel For Me)," sang lead on this one.
  • Rutherford and Roachford wrote this song with Clark Datchler, who was lead singer in the band Johnny Hates Jazz. He wrote their hit "Shattered Dreams."
  • Like the monster Mike + The Mechanics hit "The Living Years," this song features a choir. It's comprised of Cherrice Kirton, Godfrey Gayle, Joy Malcolm, Priscilla Jones, Subrina McCalla and Xavier Barnett.
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

Brandi CarlileSongwriter Interviews

As a 5-year-old, Brandi was writing lyrics to instrumental versions lullabies. She still puts her heart into her songs, including the one Elton John sings on.

Christopher CrossSongwriter Interviews

The man who created Yacht Rock with "Sailing" wrote one of his biggest hits while on acid.

Butch VigSongwriter Interviews

The Garbage drummer/songwriter produced the Nirvana album Nevermind, and Smashing Pumpkins' Gish and Siamese Dream.

Gary NumanSongwriter Interviews

An Electronic music pioneer with Asperger's Syndrome. This could be interesting.

Joe JacksonSongwriter Interviews

Joe talks about the challenges of of making a Duke Ellington tribute album, and tells the stories behind some of his hits.

Martin PageSongwriter Interviews

With Bernie Taupin, Martin co-wrote the #1 hits "We Built This City" and "These Dreams." After writing the Pretty Woman song for Go West, he had his own hit with "In the House of Stone and Light."