Album: Cruel Summer (2012)
  • songfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • This is one of five Cruel Summer cuts that Pusha T appears on. The Clipse rapper also features on "Mercy", "New God Flow," "The Morning" and "Don't Like" on the GOOD Music collaborative album. Pusha told MTV News that he heard the finished product only weeks before its official debut. "Working on all of those tracks, it's a situation where I wasn't always in studio. It was one of those things where [Kanye] might've sent me a beat — or made sure I got a beat, because he didn't really send anything via email — and I would just write to it," he explained. The surprise was when I got in the studio on August 28 and heard all these records," he continued. "I had no idea I was on a record with Ma$e, on 'Higher,' I had no idea that Raekwon was on 'The Morning' and I didn't even know that he put Ghostface on 'New God Flow,' who's one of my all-time favorite rappers, just because he has the one style that is proven to be timeless throughout the years."
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

dUg Pinnick of King's XSongwriter Interviews

dUg dIgs into his King's X metal classics and his many side projects, including the one with Jeff Ament of Pearl Jam.

Kerry Livgren of KansasSongwriter Interviews

In this talk from the '80s, the Kansas frontman talks turning to God and writing "Dust In The Wind."

Vince ClarkeSongwriter Interviews

An original member of Depeche Mode, Vince went on to form Erasure and Yaz.

Maria MuldaurSongwriter Interviews

The "Midnight At The Oasis" singer is an Old Time gal. She talks about her jug band beginnings and shares a Dylan story.

Does Jimmy Page Worship The Devil? A Look at Satanism in RockSong Writing

We ring the Hell's Bells to see what songs and rockers are sincere in their Satanism, and how much of it is an act.

Martyn Ware of Heaven 17Songwriter Interviews

Martyn talks about producing Tina Turner, some Heaven 17 hits, and his work with the British Electric Foundation.