by A$AP Rocky (featuring Frank Ocean)

  • songfacts ®
  • Artistfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • Over a tranquil production, A$AP Rocky laments about fame swallowing up his life at the expense of his relationships with the people he loves.

    Haven't checked on my niece in weeks
    Months past and months in between since me and my sister would speak
    Not a call or visit in weeks, lost, nothin' since the September last
    Seen her September '16, man it feels like

    Rocky goes on to reference the death of A$AP Mob affiliate A$AP Press, who passed away in March 2016.
    Rocky said "Purity" was inspired by "losing people." "Whether it be a family member, a companion, just a friend, business partners, anything," he explained to Complex.
  • Frank Ocean rhymes the first verse in which he talks about his struggles to find peace of mind. He also linked up with Rocky on another Testing track, "Brotha Man."
  • Rocky, Finatik N Zac, Dean Blunt, and Hector Delgado's production features a manipulated sample of Lauryn Hill's 2002 track "I Gotta Find Peace of Mind."
  • Frank Ocean told GayLetter magazine that he largely improvised his verse. Ocean recalled that when he arrived at his recording session with A$AP Rocky, the rapper played him Lauryn Hill's sample chopped up and the open space he wanted him at. The singer generally works on his lyrics alone, so putting his verse together in front of others pushed him out of his comfort zone. He explained normally he would have headphones on "listening to the beat over and over," then he would piece all the words together in his head and "blurt out the verse."
Please sign in or register to post comments.


Be the first to comment...

Mac Powell of Third DaySongwriter Interviews

The Third Day frontman talks about some of the classic songs he wrote with the band, and what changed for his solo country album.

Victoria WilliamsSongwriter Interviews

Despite appearances on Carson, Leno and a Pennebaker film, Williams remains a hidden treasure.

Charles FoxSongwriter Interviews

After studying in Paris with a famous composition teacher, Charles became the most successful writer of TV theme songs.

Music Video Director David HoganSong Writing

David talks about videos he made for Prince, Alabama, Big & Rich, Sheryl Crow, DMB, Melissa Etheridge and Sisters of Mercy.

Director Paul Rachman on "Hunger Strike," "Man in the Box," KissSong Writing

After cutting his teeth on hardcore punk videos, Paul defined the grunge look with his work on "Hunger Strike" and "Man in the Box."

Michael BoltonSongwriter Interviews

Into the vaults for this talk with Bolton from the '80s when he was a focused on writing songs for other artists.