Album: The Lost Children (2005)
  • songfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • This song is about a relationship with someone who keeps coming in and out of your life, and every time they come back they screw up your whole world. Guitarist Dan Donegan told Artist Direct: "As far as the message and the meaning goes, a lot of David's stuff lyrically is relationship-related. That's another one of those situations. I think it's more so about a person who's coming in and out of your life in a relationship, and it brings you 'Hell.' [Laughs]."
  • The song was recorded in early 2005 at Groovemaster Studios in Chicago and originally appeared as a B-side from the band's single "Stricken."
  • In 2011 it was re-released as the first single from Disturbed's first-ever B-sides compilation album, The Lost Children.
  • The song was a bonus track on the UK and Tour edition of Ten Thousand Fists but was left off the American release. Donegan explained why to Artist Direct: "At the time, we thought, 'Hell' is such a cool song, but we want to leave it off hoping we can find the right outlet for it at the right time—whether it be a soundtrack or a sporting event. We left it off because we felt it was such a strong song. The song was always in the back of our minds."
Please sign in or register to post comments.

Comments: 3

  • Jennie from Ansonia, CtMy sister and I think this song would be perfect playing in the background of an episode of Dog: The Bounty Hunter!
  • Gabby from Or,Well as one of my all time favriote songs I give it a 5 outa 5!! If you don't like it thats just you I don't mind, Just if you don't like it do't go around saying its devil music and if you listen to it you will go to hell! PLEASE!?
  • Gabreya from Pine Bluff, AkWord. People go through bad relationships and get out of them. Just as long as they don't take the crap with them to the new one.
see more comments

Modern A Cappella with Peder Karlsson of The Real GroupSong Writing

The leader of the Modern A Cappella movement talks about the genre.

Ed Roland of Collective SoulSongwriter Interviews

The stories behind "Shine," "December," "The World I Know" and other Collective Soul hits.

Trans Soul Rebels: Songs About TransgenderismSong Writing

A history of songs dealing with transgender issues, featuring Pink Floyd, David Bowie, Morrissey and Green Day.

Jeff TrottSongwriter Interviews

Sheryl Crow's longtime songwriting partner/guitarist Jeff Trott reveals the stories behind many of the singer's hits, and what its like to be a producer for Leighton Meester and Max Gomez.

The Real Nick DrakeSong Writing

The head of Drake's estate shares his insights on the late folk singer's life and music.

Ben Kowalewicz of Billy TalentSongwriter Interviews

The frontman for one of Canada's most well-known punk rock bands talks about his Eddie Vedder encounter, Billy Talent's new album, and the importance of rock and roll.