Album: The E.N.D. (2009)
Charted: 55 1
  • songfacts ®
  • Artistfacts ®
  • Lyrics
  • "Imma Be" was originally released as the first promotional single from The Black Eyed Peas' fifth studio album The E.N.D.. It was eventually chosen as the album's official fourth single in most countries. In the UK "Rock That Body" was chosen instead.
  • In this song the quartet rap about being the Black Eyed Peas, their fly-ness and prowess for clubbing.
  • We calculate at Songfacts that the title is repeated 98 times. The constant repetition gives the impression that the Peas are actually rapping "Imma Bee" or even "Imma Pea."
  • The song's music video was directed by Rich Lee and was shot on a desert road in Lancaster, California on January 13, 2010. Filming was interrupted for a time by a sudden sandstorm.
  • When this topped the Billboard Hot 100, following "Boom Boom Pow" and "I Gotta Feeling," the Black Eyed Peas become the first duo or group to score three #1s from one album for 19 years. Wilson Phillips was the previous duo or group to notch up three No. #1s from a long player, when their self-titled debut spawned "Hold On", "Release Me" and "You're In Love" in 1990-91.
    This was the second time Fergie had achieved this feat as the singer had already achieved three Hot 100 chart-toppers from her solo debut The Dutchess: "London Bridge," "Glamorous" and "Big Girls Don't Cry" in 2006-07.
  • The E.N.D. was the first album since Madonna's 1987 True Blue to spawn three #1 singles in both the UK and US. ("Boom Boom Pow," "I Gotta Feeling" and "Meet Me Halfway" all topped the UK charts).
Please sign in or register to post comments.

Comments: 1

  • Kristen from Pittsburgh, PaI just counted, they said "imma Be" 103 times throughout the song.
see more comments

Into The Great Wide Open: Made-up MusiciansSong Writing

Eddie (played by Johnny Depp in the video) found fame fleeting, but Chuck Berry's made-up musician fared better.

Director Mark Pellington ("Jeremy," "Best Of You")Song Writing

Director Mark Pellington on Pearl Jam's "Jeremy," and music videos he made for U2, Jon Bon Jovi and Imagine Dragons.

A Monster Ate My Red Two: Sesame Street's Greatest Song SpoofsSong Writing

When singers started spoofing their own songs on Sesame Street, the results were both educational and hilarious - here are the best of them.

Which Restaurants Are Most Mentioned In Song Lyrics?Song Writing

Katy Perry mentions McDonald's, Beyoncé calls out Red Lobster, and Supertramp shouts out Taco Bell - we found the 10 restaurants most often mentioned in songs.

The Evolution of "Ophelia"Song Writing

How four songs portray Shakespeare's character Ophelia.

Johnette Napolitano of Concrete BlondeSongwriter Interviews

The singer/bassist for Concrete Blonde talks about how her songs come from clairvoyance, and takes us through the making of their hit "Joey."